Campus Sustainability Committee


The Duke University Campus Sustainability Committee (CSC), a standing committee appointed by the President, is responsible for making recommendations to guide campus sustainability policies, championing these sustainability initiatives and communicating them to each member's respective constituencies to foster a more sustainable campus community.

For 2014-2015, the CSC will continue to expand the current Climate Action Plan (CAP) to a broader Sustainability Strategic Plan (SSP), which will include targets and policies regarding other elements of sustainability such as water, recycling/waste reduction, food, supply-chain management and natural resources. The CSC will continue to monitor and report progress on emissions reductions and other CAP milestones, as well as take steps to engage the Duke community in these efforts.

Subcommittees for the CSC for 2014-2015 are listed below and are open to students, faculty, and staff.  View a description of each subcommittee.  Please contact if you are interested in participating in one of the following subcommittees.

2014-2015 Subcommittees

Energy & Water
Carbon Offsets
Natural Resources
Materials Management

2014-2015 CSC Membership

Faculty (12)
Alan Townsend, Dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment (Co-Chair)
Charlotte Clark, Nicholas School of the Environment
Mark Goodacre, Religion, Arts & Sciences
Jack Soll, Fuqua School of Business
William Pizer, Sanford School of Public Policy
Joel Meyer, Nicholas School of the Environment
Tom Taylor, Sanford School of Public Policy
Justin Wright, Biology
Claudia Gunsch, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Terry Yoshizumi, Radiology
Ryke Longest, Law, Duke Environmental Law and Policy Clinic
Tim Profeta, Director of Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions, Sanford

Administrators (12)
Tallman Trask, Executive Vice President (Co-chair)
Tavey Capps, Environmental Sustainability Director
John Noonan, Associate Vice President of Facilities
Robert Guerry, Director, Medical Center Engineering and Operations
Charles Adair, Program Manager, Duke Carbon Offsets Initiative
Joe Gonzalez, Acting Director of Residential Life and Housing Services
Anne Light, Special Assistant to the EVP
Casey Roe, Environmental Sustainability Outreach Coordinator
Mark Hough, Campus Landscape Architect
Albert Scott, Senior Director Housekeeping, Recycling, Sanitation and Grounds
Leanora Minai, Director of Communications, Office of Communication Services   
Alison Carpenter, Transit Planner

Students (8)
Graham Turbayne, Environmental Alliance
Danielle Su, Environmental Alliance
Neil Matouka, Duke University Greening Initiative
Rebecca Siebenaler, Duke University Greening Initiative
Scott Winton, GPSC representative
Jared Hodes, GPSC representative
Jason Chen, DSG representative
Callie Roberts, DSG representative